Woman, Live!

Still by Enoila Prentice {Book Review}

 

Be still and know I am God

I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth! (Psalm 46:10)

 

still

 

Still is the first book of the Still series by Enoila Prentice. Still’s main characters are Tayo, Nikky, Lade, and Sola, 4 Nigerian students who are beginning their freshman year at Stedman College of Medicine.

Characters

The characters were well-developed. I can actually vividly envision scenes from the book. Prentice did a good job of fleshing out the characters by sharing bits and pieces of their backgrounds at appropriate times. Implementing pieces of the Nigerian culture made the story come alive even more.

Lade is my favorite character. His character embodies the name of the book. His faith is strong and calming all through the story line. His unshakable belief in God makes him the most stable and down-to-Earth character in the book.

Nikky comes in at a close second. She is steadfast. I love that in a person. A surety and , not only that, but the confidence, the gumption to speak it out loud and go for it. Her self-assurance eventually convinces that if you don’t agree with her, maybe you’re you’re the crazy one. She’s a firecracker that lights up the room.

Tayo is a complicated character from beginning to end. There were moments when I loved him and hated him simultaneously. Sola also had a very dramatic and mysterious story line. While they kept me turning the pages to find out how their stories would end, I was disappointed at the conclusion of the book.

Critiques

Toward the end of the book, the suspense that had been building lead to either disappointingly predictable scenes or very left field scenes. I suppose the second book in the series is the reason for the cliffhangers, but that didn’t eliminate my frustration. I would have liked a wrap-up or some inkling as to what is to look for in the next book.

I only saw the faith dialogue happen between two characters and I wish it had been more of a common thread throughout the book. The title and cover made me think spirituality would be a bigger part of the book than it was. Maybe Prentice is saving it all for book two.

Overall…

I am interested in knowing what is next for these four characters that I have connected with so maybe the longing for more of their story and spiritual growth was a part of Prentice’s plan.

I think 20-somethings will enjoy reading this book. The characters are relatable, fun, and real. Having said that, Still seems like so much more than a suspense novel. The title and cover suggests that there is something to learn. So, I hope that book two will have the suspense and drama along with the some life lessons and spiritual growth.

You can purchase Still here.

Free Stuff!!

Prentice is hosting a giveaway here.

 

With the still peace of God,

 

 

Meet the author…

 

enoila
Eniola Prentice was born in Lagos Nigeria where she began to pen her stories as early as nine years old, inspired by an eclectic group of writers. Her budding writing career was put in the back burner as she pursued her dream of becoming a medical doctor, completing her undergraduate degree in Chicago, Illinois and her medical degree in Washington, DC. However in the third year of medical school inspired by the holy spirit or the voices in her head (she would prefer to blame God for this one) and the unique and inspiring stories of friends that became her family in medical school she began to write her debut novel and series, Still. She hopes that her writing compels challenges, inspires people and draws people to the Christian God’s redeeming love.

 

Leave a comment