Woman, Live!

Advice for When You’re Truly Ready to Move Forward

sshut the door

My friends are mostly Christian housewives and mothers. I spend most of my time volunteering in some aspect at my girls’ private Christian school. I coached soccer for a few years and now I’m the sports photographer. I’ve been an owner (read: member) of my church NewSpring for almost 9 years. From the outside people would believe that my life is simple and pretty together. The TRUTH is that it’s not.

Like many of you, my life has been and sometimes still is a mess. I spend some days not even wanting to get out of bed. I drop my girls off at school, come home and crawl back into my safe haven.

But, today I have some profound advice for you.

Are you ready?

Get out of the bed!

I mean this both literally and figuratively. Some of us literally need to crawl out of bed, get dressed, and make some overdue, life-changing decisions. Others of us have no problem getting out of the bed; yet we’re sleep-walking through life. We’re living the lie that we aren’t in control when, in fact, we are. But, it’s far easier to slump around letting life happen to us than it is for us to make better choices for ourselves.

One choice I’ve decided to make is to SHUT THE DOOR.

God has closed the door on many things that I’ve insisted on holding on to. Jobs, old friends, my past. A very good friend shared her new motto with me. She said she was going to Shut The Door on the things that have been dragging her down. I added, “And, change the locks!”  Shutting the door is only the 1st step. Sometimes we keep opening the door to those things God has already shut the door on. Just like the Israelites, we begin to miss the bondage we were so desperate to be delivered from.

CHANGE THE LOCKS

Things of the past that I spent years holding onto are slowly disappearing because I shut the door and changed the locks. Sometimes we expect blog posts, devotionals, and good preaching to change our lives. They’re just catalysts and tools. We actually have to get out of the bed and do the work. Changing the locks is the beginning of that work.

The other day I was introduced to the song “Let It Go”. If you have a young daughter, you probably know all the words. Having never seen the movie FROZEN I didn’t actually know the words to this song, but I noticed that I could actually relate to the part of the song that says “Let it go, let it go. Turn my back and slam the door.”

Wisdom is everywhere.

Proverbs 1:20-22 says:

20 Listen! Wisdom is calling out in the streets and marketplaces, 21 calling loudly at the city gates and wherever people come together: 22 “Foolish people! How long do you want to be foolish? How long will you enjoy making fun of knowledge? Will you never learn?    

And, now, a little Blythe Adams wisdom for you:    

1. Get out BED! Everyday is a new adventure.

It’s all about perspective. We serve a God who delights in blessing us. Pastor Perry Noble says, “If it ain’t good, God ain’t done.” Get out of bed, and know God is working on your behalf.

2. Shut SLAM the door and CHANGE the locks!

If you’re going in circles like a merry-go-round, you haven’t slammed the door and changed the locks yet. Give those keys to God, girl. God is always doing a NEW thing. And, I know you want to be a part of the miracles he’s performing everyday.

 3. Be prepared for Rainy Days.

Those hide-under-the-cover days are inevitable, but I want you to know that even in your darkest times, you are not alone. There is always someone, somewhere who has been where you are. If you need some sisters of faith to rally around you, email info@womanlive.me. We’ve got your back!

If you’re truly ready to move forward, TELL US in the comments below. We’ll be praying for you!

blythe - dregular

18 thoughts on “Advice for When You’re Truly Ready to Move Forward

  1. I love it. Shut the door AND change the locks. I will add, and walk away. It’s true that we have to make up our minds to shut the door on those things that keep us in bondage and holds us back from living an abundant life. We can choose to just let life happen, with no input on how anything goes in our life, but that’s simply not the way God wants us to live. We must take action. Now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What an excellent post! There is a door (job related) that for two years now I have been going back to. I haven’t opened it (well, actually I haven’t been able to but I keep trying and I know I shouldn’t) and now I am going to change the locks and “let it go.” I know that this is what I need to do. And…I WILL start getting out of bed and taking the steps that God wants me to take for a better future. Thank you so much for this awesome message!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m ready for change! I’m ready to get my blog somewhere and to start some freelancing jobs. I’m ready to have more fun, date, and start becoming an independent woman. I needed this post. Im ready to show the world…Jennice!!!

    Like

  4. It can be so hard to let things of the past go but I believe God prepares us for the most difficult situations in the minor stuff we run into, and then gives us peace. It takes a lot of prayer to get there but I ran into something last year and it was one of the heaviest things I have experienced so far. So grateful that I have my faith because it would have knocked me down if I didn’t. Great post, thanks for sharing! #bloggercaregroup

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m with Lux – love the followup of LOCK THE DOOR. To do otherwise is like losing weight and keeping the “fat clothes” just in CASE you go backwards! (Pure hypothetical example, of course!!)
    Glad to meet you through the Agape site linkup, Blythe!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Im ready to move forward with my life. I spent a long time mourning the recent loss of my mother.I stopped taking care of myself completely and just went through my days like a zombie.Then one day my daughter looked at me and said “Mommy,your life is so sad”. I didnt realize she even noticed I had changed.I made a vow right then and there to get myself together and stop only taking care of my family. Ive resumed my skincare routine,my natural hair care journey, started buying new things for myself instead of just things for my daughter.I still have rough days where all I want to do is stay in my bed mourning my mother but she wouldnt want that.She always told me she wanted me to LIVE! and Im doing that

    Like

  7. This is so perfect! I don’t know why I stay “mired down in the muck of life” so long sometimes. Then I get these moments of clarity when I find the courage to let it go and move forward! Thanks for sharing! Hugs and blessings as you move forward in God’s adventures! #bloggercaregroup

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

