Woman, Live!

Lord, Heal My Eyes: 5 Ways to a Life of Clarity

blurry tree

 

I’m meeting with my client when she shares about her morning routine. I’m writing down every detail, not because I’m taking coaching notes. No! I’m writing it down so I can do it myself! I’m so not a morning person, y’all.

So, I’m writing in my notebook when she says (and I paraphrase)

I can’t see clearly if I don’t do my morning meditation.

Which my Brandi-ness translated to:

When I look away from God, my vision becomes blurry.

Now, you can still operate with blurry vision, but it’s going to be so flawed, what’s the use?

There are so many things I can do in my own strength, but it’ll never be as good as if I did it with God’s clarity.

Besides, I don’t want good. I want GOD. 

There are times when I’m contemplating this or that and I just can’t seem to make sense of it. My brain doesn’t work. And, then (after fumbling in the darkness) I finally say, “God, I need you. I can’t see clearly. I can’t think clearly. I’m not getting anywhere.”

And, I give up.

And, then God turns around, walks over to me, and says, “My bad. I was around the corner helping Debra. What’s up?”

Of course that’s not the truth.

Actually, quite the opposite happens.

I turn around and head back to him. 

He never moved. 

I wandered off on my own and got lost. The farther I went, the cloudier my vision became. 

When blogging goes from easy to difficult, I know I’m in the woods somewhere. And, I’m not in the woods with God. I’m in the woods by my darn self. I got comfortable, thought I could do it without him, wandered off, and didn’t realize it until I was frustrated, confused, and lost.

Oh wait, I’m out here by myself. 

Me: Goooooodddddddd? Goooooooodddddd, where are you? 

God: Right here, Brandi. 

Me: Keep talking so I can find you by listening to your voice. 

And, when I reach him, guess what’s always there with him…..

green tree

CLARITY!

I can blurt out a speech while washing the dishes. No notes at all. Just flowing & rinsing!

I can type out a blog post in record time.

It’s wonderful.

I’ve heard lot of stories about teachers who discovered their students needed glasses. These kids were getting bad grades and no one knew why. These kids were having headaches and no one knew why. These kids were acting out in class and no one knew why. Until someone saw them squinting one day or holding the paper at a funny angle and said, “Hmmm…go down to Nurse Betty and have her check out your eyes.”

And, then you hear of the kid in the backseat, with her new pair of glasses saying, “Wow! That’s green blob is a TREE!”

Is that you?

Getting “bad grades” in life?

Not feeling too well?

Doing things you know you shouldn’t be doing?

You keep hearing about how beautiful a life with God is, but all you can see are blurry blobs of green?

 “The eye is the lamp of the body. So, if your eye is healthy, your whole body will be full of light, (Matthew 6:22, ESV)

 

I’m going to send you down Nurse God to get some new lenses.

 Again Jesus laid his hands on the man’s eyes, and the man opened them wide. His eyes were healed, and he was able to see everything clearly. (Mark 8:25, ERV)

 

4 Steps to a Life of Clarity: 

 

1. SPEND TIME WITH GOD

The Lord is the source of wisdom; knowledge and understanding come from his mouth. (Proverbs 2:6, ERV) 

2. READ THE PROVERBS

 These are the proverbs of Solomon, the son of David and king of Israel. They will help you learn to be wise, to accept correction, and to understand wise sayings. They will teach you to develop your mind in the right way. You will learn to do what is right and to be honest and fair. These proverbs will make even those without education smart. They will teach young people what they need to know and how to use what they have learned.Even the wise could become wiser by listening to these proverbs. They will gain understanding and learn to solve difficult problems. These sayings will help you understand proverbs, stories with hidden meanings, words of the wise, and other difficult sayings.

Knowledge begins with fear and respect for the Lord, but stubborn fools hate wisdom and refuse to learn. (Proverbs 1:1-7, ERV)

3. LOOK FOR WISDOM.

 Look for wisdom like silver. Search for it like hidden treasure. (Proverbs 2:4, ERV) 

4. ASK & BELIEVE

Do any of you need wisdom? Ask God for it. He is generous and enjoys giving to everyone. So he will give you wisdom. But when you ask God, you must believe. Don’t doubt him. Whoever doubts is like a wave in the sea that is blown up and down by the wind. 7-8 People like that are thinking two different things at the same time. They can never decide what to do. So they should not think they will receive anything from the Lord. (James 1:5-8)

5. TEST YOURSELF.

Test yourselves to make sure you are solid in the faith. Don’t drift along taking everything for granted. Give yourselves regular checkups (2 Corinthians 13:5, MSG) 

 

If you’re in need of clarity, say this aloud:  

God has healed my eyes. I am able to see everything clearly. 

 

That is my prayer for you. I pray that the areas in your life that are blurry become crystal clear.

 

Realizing your need is the first step toward healing!

What’s scary is when we keep going…blurry vision and all. When we haven’t walked with God in so long that we don’t even realize we’re not seeing clearly.

What’s scary is when we think those green blobs are all there is to life.

No, sister….

Those green blobs are nothing compared to what God wants to show you!

 

With Love,

 

signature

 

18 thoughts on “Lord, Heal My Eyes: 5 Ways to a Life of Clarity

  1. Well I sure have been spending the time and I think gaining clarity but I guess I’m stumped at asking and believing because as soon as the smallest thing contradicts what I’ve read the doubt starts creeping in.

    Like

    • We all deal with that on some level, Tiffany. God can do more with your honesty than He can with your pretending. So, I would simply tell him about your doubt and ask him for wisdom on how to move forward. For me, I believe that He’s going to give me the desires of my heart and if something doesn’t align with His will for me, He will withhold that. I think giving up control and being okay with Him deciding what to do/not do regarding our lives is key.

      Like

  2. Brandi- it’s awesome to meet you! I LOVE this post- So true- it reminded me of an old, old chorus we used to sing back in the day- turn your eyes upon Jesus- look full in His wonderful face- and the things of earth will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace. I want to see- Him- heal my eyes Lord and let me stay fixed upon You! hugs and thanks for the beautiful post!

    Like

    • Wow @ those lyrics! (I’m a music fanatic!) I just had to close my eyes and imagine His face compared to the things of this Earth. It just doesn’t compare! Nice to meet you, as well! Thanks for stopping by and for sharing your heart (and song lyrics)!

      Like

  3. Oh Brandi, this is so good, I am smiling and inspired all at once. “I don’t want good, I want God.” Yes! I want clear vision and I want to see the world through the eyes of Jesus. Thank you!
    #bloggercaregroup

    Like

  4. I definitely needed to read this. I have been feeling so melancholy,stuck, anxious,worried,and sad for a long time now. I thought maybe it was because I recently lost my job,then I thought it was because my bf and I were drifting apart. But I think its because I miss God. I need Him and maybe I’ve just been too stubborn to say so. Thanks, Brandi!

    Like

Leave a Reply

