Live! / Woman

No Matter What I Do, Nothing Seems To Work!

flower weeds

Every time my daughter spots a bed of weeds with little flowers, she runs over to pick two flowers for her dad and me. Even if we’re 10 mins. late, she has to pick a flower. And, because she’s so cute and sweet, I let her. If I’m on carpool duty, she carefully places her dad’s flower in my hand and makes me promise to give it to him. Knowing that it’ll die before I reach him, I take a picture. And, true to form, by the time he gets in the car, it has withered to nothing.

Is there an area in your life that keeps withering to nothing? Does your money keep withering to nothing, no matter how much you get? Do your relationships keep failing? Do you perform well at work only to realize you never get a promotion? Do you have an obvious gift/talent that you just can’t seem to get off the ground?

If so, I have a very important question to ask you.

Do you walk with Jesus everyday?

Jesus Is Like a Vine

15 Jesus said, “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch[a] of mine that does not produce fruit.[b] He also trims every branch that produces fruit to prepare it to produce even more. You have already been prepared to produce more fruit by the teaching I have given you. Stay joined to me and I will stay joined to you. No branch can produce fruit alone. It must stay connected to the vine. It is the same with you. You cannot produce fruit alone. You must stay joined to me.

“I am the vine, and you are the branches. If you stay joined to me, and I to you, you will produce plenty of fruit. But separated from me you won’t be able to do anything. If you don’t stay joined to me, you will be like a branch that has been thrown out and has dried up. All the dead branches like that are gathered up, thrown into the fire and burned.Stay joined together with me, and follow my teachings. If you do this, you can ask for anything you want, and it will be given to you. Show that you are my followers by producing much fruit. This will bring honor[c] to my Father.

According to this John 15:1-8 (shown above), when we do things apart from God, it will not last. A disconnected vine is cut off from the water and food supply and will wither away.

If there’s something in your life that keeps eluding you no matter how hard you’re pursuing it, check your connection.

*Later this week, I will discuss how to stay connected to God. Subscribe to Woman, Live! so you don’t miss the follow-up post or any posts thereafter!*

With Love,

signature

3 thoughts on “No Matter What I Do, Nothing Seems To Work!

Leave a Reply

