Woman, Live!

A Blessing of Sacrifice

charday post 2

I was asked by a friend to intercede for her in a fast. She was needing a breakthrough in a particular area and decided to fast it out and wanted me to join her. I said yes in support of her and decided not only to stand for her but to come to God about an area that I needed some relief in as well. The fast was for about 2 weeks with no food between the hours of 6am-12noon. So I turned food away for those hours and did some much needed bible reading, prayer and worship.

For the past couple of months I had been having a hard time making decisions, getting focused, and managing my days. I was tired and sleep-deprived and for the life of me, I could never get my brain to unwind. So not only was I physically exhausted but I was mentally drained too. And all the while, the wheels were constantly turning at home; kids, homework, cleaning, cooking, working, writing, and trying to figure out what was the next step in my life. It was hard trying to figure out the next step when I hadn’t even conquered what God had already giving me.

Honestly I went lightly into the fast mainly focused on supporting my friend and not on my own need. About a week and a half in all of a sudden I started to become clear about what I should focus on and how I should do what I needed to do. Gracefully I began to experience some much needed clarity. It’s like somebody oiled my brain and all of a sudden it started functioning efficiently. Lord! I needed it. I realized that God was honoring my fast. I also began to remember that some strongholds can only be broken with fasting and prayer. My minded was getting the easiness and the rest it needed. I had direction and understanding about which goals to pursue first. Physically I was able to follow through and had enough energy to handle the demands of being me. My friend asking me to intercede for her was not only for her. It ended up being a blessing to me, too.

And He said unto them, this kind can come forth by nothing but prayer and fasting. (Mark 9:29)

If you have been dealing with something that weighs heavy and seems unmovable I encourage you to consider fasting, especially if you are on the verge of making an important decision. Below are some fasting tips and references from http://www.jentezenfranklin.org/join-fastingmovement/types-of-fasts/. You can modify these to fit into your lifestyle. There isn’t an exclusively right way to do it. It’s more about the sacrifice you present to God.

 

Types of Fast 

FASTING – JENTEZEN FRANKLIN  TYPES OF FAST

 There are several types of fasting. The one you choose is between you and God. He will honor your best sacrifice.

 

Full Fast Drink only liquids (you establish the number of days).

The Daniel Fast Eat no meat, no sweets and no bread. Drink water and juice. Eat fruits and vegetables.

3-Day Fast This fast can be a Full Fast, Daniel Fast or give up at least one item of food.

Partial Fast A partial fast is from 6:00 am to 3:00 pm or from sun up to sundown. You can select from three types of fasting —a Full Fast, Daniel Fast or give up at least one item of food.

Scripture References for Fasting: Matthew 6:16-18Matthew 9:14-15Luke 18:9-14

Relation to Prayer and Reading of the Word: 1 Samuel 1:6-817-18Nehemiah 1:4Daniel 9:3, 20Joel 2:12Luke 2:37Acts 10:30,Acts 13:2

Corporate Fasting: 1 Samuel 7:5-6Ezra 8:21-23Nehemiah 9:1-3Joel 2:15-16Jonah 3:5-10Acts 27:33-37

Remember that it is the attitude of a heart sincerely seeking Him to which God responds with a blessing (Isaiah 58Jeremiah 14:121 Corinthians 8:8).

May God greatly bless you as you fast!

Happy Fasting!!!

-Charday Wilson

One thought on “A Blessing of Sacrifice

  1. Thank you for sharing this! sometimes we truly have to say I’m willing to do whatever and sacrifice via fasting! I love that you listed out various fasts for everyone and that you were willing to join your friend in much needed prayer.

    thank you and I’m thankful you are part of the Blogger Care Group!

    @spreadingJOY
    Marie

    Like

Leave a Reply

