Woman, Live!

Summer Questions #1

So, I sit down to write because 1) I need to and 2) I miss chatting with all of you. But, after sitting here untwisting my hair, I realize that my brain is going in 800 different directions and I waited too late (it’s 12:17 am, by the way) to write a post that I would love to share with you.

But, I STILL wanted to say something. 

So, while Woman, Live! is under construction, I don’t know how often I’ll be dropping wisdom in your inboxes. But, I will be keeping in touch at least once a week.

So this week’s question is…

What’s the #1 thing you’re looking forward to this summer?

It’s hard for me to pinpoint “summer” on Guam because it’s 90 degrees year round, but I’ll still answer.

I’m looking forward to God prioritizing my life.

I recently got a new job which I absolutely LOVE and last week we went to the beach for a “team building day”. I wasn’t going to get in the water because I didn’t want to get wet or sticky, but my co-workers convinced me to have some fun. As soon as I got in, I could feel the heaviness and weariness just float away. The water was so relaxing. And, I immediately felt like why don’t I do this more often? 

This weekend was my daughter’s first slumber party. Although I had turrets for the weekend Stop! Go in your room! Sit down! Close the door! Open the door! Move back!, I actually enjoyed giving the parents a break and having friends over for my daughter to play with. (We’re far far away from home and cousins!) And, I’m going to enjoy them returning the favor even more! 🙂 But, it felt significant to me. It felt loving and kind. I need more of that…

When a co-worker came to pick up her daughter, she stayed to talk for an hour if not more. It was natural. No fluff. No uncomfortable moments. And, we instantly went to a I wouldn’t tell just anyone this type of conversation. <—THOSE ARE MY FAVORITE! (OMG! I just heard Will Ferrell in The Elf as he talked about the gum drops being his favorite! Haha!) So, that was nice…again, need. more. now. 

I’ve been having a great couple of weeks with my husband. NEED. MORE. ALWAYS. 

I know this isn’t always possible, but as much as can be done…I’d like to fill my days up with things that matter to me (and God). Things that add to my life.

So, that’s the goal…to have a meaningful, memorable summer.

Your turn! 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Questions #1

  1. I love summer! Yes, there is the heat but between living in South Texas and South Florida, heat is my norm. My summer began a little earlier than the official June date but I’m doing my “summer” things like reading for the sheer joy of it; grilling things in a new way because it’s the official grilling season; and best of all, I’ve been able to spend time with family. So to answer your question, I’m looking forward to more of the same!

    Like

    • Sounds so lovely, Kim! Especially, the reading part! Guam’s grilling is mostly BBQ. I have to rebel and throw a burger and hotdog on the grill sometimes! To a lovely summer (clinks mouse…)

      Like

Leave a Reply

