Interview / Woman, Live!

A Light That Cannot Be Hidden: Jenai of Not of This World {Interview}

hustle

 

A few weeks ago, I participated in Hustle from the Heart: A Free 5 Day Challenge for Bloggers, Solopreneurs & Side Hustlers. Hustle from the Heart was created by founder of The Colored Girl Confidential, LC Johnson. I’m not sure how I heard about it, but I’m pretty sure it was from the grapevine of Twitter. I don’t want to give away LC’s secrets, but I will say that if you’re trying to determine who your client/reader/audience is, who they are not, what you offer, and create a will you be a part of my tribe letter, HFTH is for you.

Everyday we had to answer a question (via the HFTH Facebook group) and LC (and other HFTH participants) would provide helpful feedback. As I was seeing the heart of these women, I thought Wow! They are going for it! They are on the road to living out their passions and perhaps their G0d-given purpose. This is what Woman, Live! is all about. 

I wanted to assist them by featuring them and their up & coming blog/business/service on Woman, Live! And, I wanted to assist you by introducing you to their blog/business/service BUT more importantly, introducing you to a woman who is GOING AFTER WHAT SHE WANTS! I don’t care what anyone says, when people see others swim into the deep water, it gives them permission to wade just a little deeper.

Consider this YOUR permission. 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Our first go-getter is Jenai! Jenai is a young woman who’s trying to figure it all out and the part she’s figured out, she enjoys sharing with the rest of us. I call people like Jenai, lights. And, a light cannot be hidden under a bushel. It must shine. And, this world needs all the light it can get!

jenai

1. Who is Jenai? 

Jenai is a multidimensional, complex black woman who is a student of life, a lover, a fighter and most importantly, a daughter of the Most High, God.

2. I loved your entrepreneurial spirit during Hustle from the Heart. When did you know you wanted to be an entrepreneur?

I’m not sure I would call myself an entrepreneur, but I did know that I wanted to establish a powerful online presence and create a community for women like me. I realized that I wanted to do this when I struggled with feeling alone in the world and wondering if there were like-minded women out there.

As I searched for these women online, fortunately, I found them–LC Johnson, the Hustle from the Heart creator, being one of them–and thought to myself: What if these women had a community where they could explore and discuss various issues, a safe space where they could be themselves, a community with like-minded women who could relate to one another, empower one another and support each other as they embark on their own individual journeys?

That’s when I realized that I wanted to create that community.

3. My readers have shared that they find it hard to dream. Often times, their dreams and ideas were squelched at a young age. What motivates you to keep working toward your goals?

I’ll be honest–it’s hard, especially when you don’t see results instantly. Right now, what keeps me going is knowing that my work is already positively impacting women. It’s also knowing that no matter how large or small the number, as long as someone has been blessed by my work, it’s worth it to keep working, if only for 1 person.

4. I tried to pursue everything but my dream until I just couldn’t run anymore. Did that happen to you?

Not exactly. I have many dreams and believe that God places these dreams on our hearts so that we can bless the world with our work. With that in mind, while I now realize that every dream I have may not be a full-blown career, I am currently finding ways to fulfill all of my dreams in my life.

Not of This World is a project that I will be working on while I pursue my masters in Mental Health Counseling. They are both dreams that I hope to see come true, but they will come true in different ways and settings. So, I had to work on understanding that every dream has its place and time.

5.   Tell us more about Not of This World. 

Not of This World is a community for multidimensional, complex women who want to become their true selves and live life in a way that reflects their values. It is for women who want to work towards becoming the women that God has created them to be and are tired of trying to fit into society’s box. This community is for women who want a community of loving, supportive, like-minded women to help them and stand by them as they embark on their own individual journey. It’s a place where women can be exposed to blogs, books, and videos about Christianity, racism, sexism, feminism/womanism, intersectionality, healthy relationships, self-love, self-awareness and other topics that will serve to help women build a solid foundation for themselves. It is also a place where they can engage in discussion about these various topics with other women, as well as receive help and support as they use their knowledge to take action in their day-to-day lives.

6. What kind of woman would love Not of This World?

Not of This World is for women who have ever felt that they didn’t belong–as if they were too much and not enough at the same time. It’s for the women who cannot be easily defined. It’s for women who feel as though they do not fit into society’s box. If a woman is seeking after God’s heart, is interested in social justice and the ways oppression affects us, is interested in self-improvement, wants to have discussions about various life topics in a safe community of like-minded women…then Not of This World is for her.

7. Where can we find your on the web?

You can find me on Facebook, YouTube, & on my blog.

8. What’s one piece of advice you would give a woman who wants to go after her dreams, but feels stuck?

The only person who’s stopping you from living your dream is you. Don’t stand in your own way…pray about your dreams, your heart’s desires and ask God to guide you every step of the way. Remember: You can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens you.

 

Jenai is a 22-year-old young woman who is lives in Florida. She has a B.S. in Psychology. She is preparing to pursue a masters degree in mental health counseling. Currently, she is working two jobs, but when she’s not working, she’s writing and performing spoken word poetry, singing in the church choir and blogging on her favorite site, Not of This World

3 thoughts on “A Light That Cannot Be Hidden: Jenai of Not of This World {Interview}

Leave a Reply

