Woman, Live! / Woman, Move! / Woman, Play!

If Their Mouths Aren’t Hanging Open, You’re Not Doing It Right {Woman, Play!}

20140316-015759.jpg

When’s the last time you did something outside of your comfort zone? Something that made you think (on the drive over) why am I doing this? Something that made you just a little bit nervous and giddy all at once?

Today is the day I’ve looked forward to all week. The company I work for is participating in a Paddles Against Cancer, a paddling competition to raise cancer awareness. They randomly chose interested employees to participate and whoo-hoo, I was among the chosen. I’ve never been in the a canoe before and I had no idea was paddling what was, but they welcomed beginners and that was all the permission I needed! Let me remind you that I am Brandi from SC….chick that only got up to her knees wet in the ocean…chick that can’t swim!….chick that is out of shape….you get the picture, right? And, here I am in a canoe, paddling across the ocean.

Sometimes I just have to sit back and take it all in. 

So, what have you done lately that would make your closest friends and family’s mouths hang open?

If my family knew I was in a canoe, they’d probably laugh themselves into a frenzy! 

My challenge to you is to get out and do something totally unexpected.  Try something new! Surprise yourself! You’ll be in awe at your courage, trust me! And, it’ll give you the confidence to continue experiencing new adventures.

And, you don’t have to travel to experience new things. Some of the people of Guam, living on a tropical paradise, mind you, are just like some of you. Sitting at home and missing out! They go to the beach 3 to 4 times per year. That’s it. So, it’s not where you live, it’s how you live.

Google “things to do in (insert your city)” and interrupt your normal routine with some I can’t believe I’m signing up for this fun! And, don’t forget to share your new experience with all of us!

Your interaction motivates me to keep writing! Please let me know you enjoyed reading this post by commenting, liking, and sharing with others.  

Bursting with excitement for all the ways you’re going to shock yourself!

Leave a Reply

