Woman, Live!

Suddenly! [Woman, Play!]

Sometimes, God takes years to do things and sometimes….He does things suddenly. 

At the beginning of this year, I prayed to meet and befriend more women. In my mind, it didn’t make sense to have a heart for serving women and not have any active female friends. Also, I just need girlfriends! My life was beginning to feel unbalanced. I attend several Bible studies. I talk career with my friend, who is a professional career coach, & Twitter sisters! I have mommy talk with all of my mommy friends. But, where’s the fun?!

I missed hanging out at the mall, grabbing a bite to eat at a new restaurant, blasting our favorite song in the car, chatting about what happened on the latest episode of whatever, and getting cute for a night out on the town!

As a woman, I need that! 

Suddenly…I found myself meeting women left and right. Just like that. Here’s the latest developments on the girlfriend front…

A few weeks ago, a girlfriend invited me to celebrate her birthday. I met her at Bible study a year ago and then her life took her in a different direction, but somehow we kept in touch. She introduced me to 3 or 4 other women at her birthday party, one of whom I invited to my 30th birthday celebration this past weekend.

Then, a lady I babysit for invited me to a BBQ with her girlfriends. We were all black and living on Guam so we instantly connected, jumping from hair to music to TV shows to how things were when we were little and how different they are now as we raise our little ones.

Our women’s ministry at church hosted a cookie swap. I don’t bake, am not interested in baking, and wasn’t so sure I wanted to take part. I just didn’t feel like it. But, as Lysa TerKeurst (author of Unglued) says, “Feelings are indicators and shouldn’t be dictators.” So, I searched my heart, opened my mind and went. I had a good time and I’m looking forward to getting to know the ladies outside the four walls of the church.

CWSBA Guam’s events are always full of women! This month we talked about getting fit and healthy. Bernice so graciously introduced me as “the bomb blogger!” That, alone, sparked some great conversation. Then, we all got a lil’ sweaty! And, there’s nothing like laughing at each other while struggling to breathe that makes you feel close to the sister struggling beside you!

Our women’s Bible study is reading Unglued by Lysa TerKeurst. Unglued is about our emotions getting the best of us. Lysa encourages us to be open with one another which was a complaint a few of us had. We’ve all been trying to activate trust and share our hearts and struggles with each other. It’s not easy to do, but it’s necessary for growth of friendship. I’m excited about getting to know them on a more personal level.

I invited myself to a yoga class with my friend, Rocky. Hanging out one-on-one definitely adds depth to our friendship.

And, lastly, but CERTAINLY not least, this past weekend I celebrated my 30th birthday!  My hubby scheduled manis & pedis that morning and took me shopping that afternoon. My long-time friend who lives in NY scheduled a face beating at MAC makeup counter. And, later that night, my girlfriends took me to a new steakhouse and then to a lounge to see a pretty awesome live band. All the things I’ve been craving was accomplished! We talked about what I should be looking forward to as I enter my 30’s, relationships, kids, traveling, keeping it spicy in the bedroom, and then some! It was awesome! (Click here for photos!)

I’m three decades old! If there was ever a time to evaluate my life, THIS IS IT! And, as my new and wise friend Kay says, “30 is too old to be talking about what you used to do.” My life should be getting better, not reminiscing on the good ole’ days. I’ve always valued deep friendship. I need to feel connected. So, that is one area that I will intentionally work on. Afterall, hanging out with the girls makes me come home a refreshed wife and patient mommy. That’s a good enough reason all by itself!

Consider Woman, Play! to be in full effect!


20140206-232327.jpg

20140206-235618.jpg

20140206-235709.jpg

20140206-235748.jpg

1-25-2014 023 1-25-2014 02420140206-235809.jpg30 090

One thought on “Suddenly! [Woman, Play!]

Leave a Reply

