Woman, Live!

Who Told You That?: A Surefire Way to Silence Your Negative Self-Talk (Pt. 1)

Image

Today I learned something in church that is crucial to my self-image and will obliterate my negative self talk. Our speaker, Arman Guieb, is one who truly studies the Bible. It amazes me all of the things he can get from one sentence or in this case one word. This morning Arman pointed out something that I had never noticed before (which is usually the case which is why it’s good to go to church and hear the Word). He recalled the scripture after Adam & Eve had eaten from the special tree. 

8 During the cool part of the day, the Lord God was walking in the garden. The man and the woman heard him, and they hid among the trees in the garden. 9 The Lord God called to the man and said, “Where are you?”

10 The man said, “I heard you walking in the garden, and I was afraid. I was naked, so I hid.”

11 God said to the man, “Who told you that you were naked? Did you eat fruit from that special tree? I told you not to eat from that tree!” (Gen. 3:8-11)

 

Arman found the Hebrew translation for naked. He said one translation of naked (in Hebrew) meant empty, destitute, and without protection. So, when God asked Adam, “Who told you that you were naked?” He was really asking, “Who told you that you were empty?” “Who told you that you were destitute? “Who told you that you had no protection?” 

That made me think about all the things the Devil has whispered in my ear and no-doubt your ear, too. You’re not good enough. You’re not smart enough. You don’t know enough. You’re not old enough. You’re not young enough. You’re not educated enough. You’re not wealthy enough. You not strong enough. You’re not committed enough. You’re not pretty enough. You’re not thin enough. You’re not curvy enough. 

And, as that negative self-talk begins to play over and over as soon as you dare to try something new…

As that negative self-talk begins to play over and over as soon as you have an innovative idea…

As that negative self-talk begins to play over and over when you step into the room with a bunch of women…

As that negative self-talk begins to play over and over as you think of asking for a promotion…

As that negative self-talk begins to play over and over as you think of switching careers…

As that negative self-talk begins to play over and over as you try to be a more patient mom and wife…

As that negative self-talk begins to play over and over you try to start a workout regimen…

As that negative self-talk begins to play over and over as you try to just say no to my drug of choice…

As that negative self-talk begins to play over and over as you look in the mirror…

I hear God asking, “Who told you that?” It wasn’t me.” 

God says, “I said you’re the apple of my eye.”

God says, “I said you were victorious.”

God says, “I said that I would give you your heart’s desire.”

God says, “I said you were a treasure.”

God says, “I said you were free.”

God says, “I said that I would help you.” 

God says, “I said that you would have an abundant life.” 

God says, “I said that I am your shepherd and you will want for nothing.” 

God says, “I said think thoughts that are pleasing to me.” 

We are to take each thought and line it up with the Word of God and if God didn’t say it, it doesn’t matter! There are some areas we need to improve. Fine. Go for your Masters if you want to. Get a new haircut if it’ll make you feel good. The thoughts that spur you toward happiness and success are good. But, the thoughts that cause you to shrink back, not pursue your dream, and debilitate you…test them against the Word of God.  

Our self-image shouldn’t be based on lies, ladies. It should be based on truth. 

Your sister, 

7 thoughts on “Who Told You That?: A Surefire Way to Silence Your Negative Self-Talk (Pt. 1)

Leave a Reply

