Woman, Live! / Woman, Move!

Pasta, Cheetos, A Coke & Yoga (You know you’ve done it!)

20140127-213737.jpg

I had an emotional weekend so I pigged out on Pizza Hut pasta last night and continued the pasta party today during lunch. Then I saw some Cheetos and poured myself a nice napkinful. I broke my water bottle a few weeks back so the only obvious beverage was that Coke in the fridge, right? Right.

About an hour later when the “itis” kicked in I tried to think of any reason to stand my friend up for our yoga date. And, I do mean ANYTHING!

Usually, eating bad would be the perfect out. You see I’m one of those people that have to lead a perfect day for me to do anything healthy. If I ate ice cream, guess I’ll have to start my workout routine tomorrow. If I overslept, guess I’ll have to start my workout routine tomorrow. If my period comes on, guess I’ll have to start my workout routine tomorrow. If I chip a nail, guess I’ll have to start my workout routine tomorrow. And if I had pasta, Cheetos, and a Coke for lunch I definitely have to start my workout routine tomorrow.

But today…

I choose to workout anyway.

Somebody call the doctor because I don’t even recognize myself right now! *faints from total shock*

Since you’re human, like me, I know you have those moments as well. You blow it and then vow to do better tomorrow. I’m here to tell you that your “re-do” button or “tomorrow” can be the very next moment. The sun doesn’t have to set and rise for you to make better decisions. Stop trying to do it perfectly and just do it!

I decided that this year, it’s not going to be a perfect race to the finish line of a 50 lb. weight loss. It’s going to be an imperfect mountain climb to sexy. So, I don’t get to bash myself for having a donut for breakfast and use my sad and pitiful mood to justify sitting on the couch with a bowl full of chocolate covered pretzels. This is called Self-Sabotage, folks. Don’t do it! This year, the emphasis isn’t on perfect. It’s on progress, slow and imperfect. 

With gobs and gobs of sweaty yoga love,

6 thoughts on “Pasta, Cheetos, A Coke & Yoga (You know you’ve done it!)

  1. I have had these moments! I try not to beat myself up because I figure the more I beat myself up about being a human being, the more I will grow to resent myself and I won’t do anything that I might fail at again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

