Woman, Live!

That G word…

I’m new on the job.

Still learning the in’s and out’s of the pharmacy.

I’m a pharmacy technician.

My latest task was the learning the register.

Closing out money always makes me antsy. Don’t want to make any mistakes.

Last week was my first time with my own drawer.

At the end of the day, I was missing a receipt. I dropped a quarter. And, I had to make a correction on my financial sheet.

Doesn’t sound like that big of a deal, but I was starting to sweat.

My co-worker said, “It’s ok. A receipt can be re-printed.”

And, just like that I felt lighter……stronger……

She could have said, “You need to be more careful with your receipts.”

She could have said, “After 3 mess-ups, they’ll fire you.”

She could have let out a long sigh when I discovered a mistake in my count and commented on the tackiness of my calculation correction (in pen).

She didn’t.

She just said, “It’s okay. You’re doing good.”

Proverbs 18:21 says,

The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love to talk will have to eat their own words.

When we speak, we either help people with our words or we hurt them with our words. This doesn’t mean that we have to sugarcoat everything, but it does mean that God considers the intention behind our words. So, speak thoughtfully.

And, we won’t always get it right. That’s what grace, mercy and forgiveness are for.

The next time you get the chance to make someone feel terrible OR capable and supported, I hope you’ll choose the latter.

Afterall…we sow our words.

One day we’ll reap them…

When did someone use their words to lift you up in a moment when they could have chosen to tear you down? 

With Love,

4 thoughts on “That G word…

Leave a Reply

