Woman, Eat! / Woman, Live! / Woman, Move!

30 Before 30 Bucket List (14/30): Boonie Stomping Up The Tallest Mountain on Earth

*Boonie Stomping is Guam’s name for hiking.*

The first time my husband took me around the island, I claimed a particular mountain as my mountain. This mountain is called Mt. Lamlam. According to Guam, it’s the tallest mountain on Earth. I’ve heard otherwise, but for the sake of feeling daring, super cool, and adventurous, I’m going to claim it as the Earth’s tallest mountain. 🙂 I’m not sure what about it captured my attention. It’s more like a span of hills than a mountain, but everytime I drive down south I’m in awe of all the dips and peaks and the vast array of green, with the ocean sprawled out on the other side. I’m not much of a nature girl (perhaps I’m becoming one), but I enjoy sitting and gazing at it’s beauty, for sure.

I put Climb Mt. Lamlam on my bucket list almost one year ago and last Sunday at church Natasha, from Soulcheck, announced that they would be summiting Mt. Lamlam to declare the Word of God over the island of Guam. *big cheese spreads across my face*

So, this morning at 6am, we begin the trek.

But, first, here’s a little info about Mt. Lamlam from The Guam Guide.

Climb the tallest mountain on Earth

Mount Lamlam (meaning lightningin Chamorro), located in the southwestern village of Agat, is the highest peak on Guam.

Though Mount Lamlam is only 1,332 feet high, the distance from the peak to the bottom of the nearby Mariana Trench is perhaps the greatest change in elevation on Earth over such a short distance. The Marianas Trench reaches a maximum known depth of 6.78 miles.

If Mount Everest, the highest mountain on Earth at 29,040 feet, was set in the deepest part of the Mariana Trench, there would be 6,760 feet of water left above it.

Hikers can reach the mountain trailhead across from Cetti Bay Overlook and summit in about 30 minutes.

Let me start by saying that this is my 3rd boonie stomp and the only one I’ve done without my husband. My husband paves the way. If there’s a spider hanging somewhere, it’ll meet him first. If the pathway is slippery, he falls and then warns me. This time I was left to deal with the bugs and slippery slopes all by myself. (Although, the men made sure all the women were taken care of. And, my good friend Anthony definitely took a couple slips and falls for me. Gotta love chivalry!) Sometimes instead of praying for Guam, I was praying for strength to make it up this mountain! As I leaned against a tree for support, I thought to myself, “Leaning on the Lord is taking on a very literal meaning today!”

nov. 2013 127

My first rest area. The view was gorgeous.

nov. 2013 128

Church member, Jeehbeneth

We’re super sweaty and determined to summit this mountain!

nov. 2013 129

The ocean…

nov. 2013 133

We made it!

nov. 2013 134

One of the worship songs we sung on top of the mountain.

In this video we’re singing “On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand.” The gentleman is singing in Chamorro (Guam’s native language). The majority of us are singing in English. And, a family next to me is singing in Korean. I thought that was pretty awesome. Every knee shall bow. Every tongue confess. 

nov. 2013 137

Every Easter, the Catholics summit the mountain with crosses. Seeing the crosses from the road might have been what I loved most about this mountain.

nov. 2013 141

Me!

nov. 2013 142

The sun came out.

nov. 2013 143

And, so did the rain.

Someone said she felt like the rain was God cleansing Guam.

nov. 2013 146

God put a rainbow in the sky.

nov. 2013 149

Jeehbeneth worshipping.

nov. 2013 150

More praise & worship…

nov. 2013 151

After the rain, the way back down was more like mud skiing than hiking. I fell about 3 times and laughed hysterically. So glad I finally climbed my mountain and to do it all while declaring God’s promises for his people, well, that made it 10 times better!

What’s the last thing you’ve crossed off your bucket list? 

If you enjoyed reading, please comment, like & share. 

With Love,

9 thoughts on “30 Before 30 Bucket List (14/30): Boonie Stomping Up The Tallest Mountain on Earth

Leave a Reply

