Woman, Live! / Woman, Move!

My 5K Experience: Hong Kong Here I Come!

One night I was sitting on my couch debating about whether or not I was going to run a 5k the next morning. I didn’t want to go by myself so I called all my girlfriends, found a willing one (thank God!) and decided that the next morning I was going to lace up my running shoes. We were still signing up when the race began. “Dangit! Now even the walkers are going to beat me,” I thought to myself.  “You’ll be number 563,” she said. “Thanks,” I said, almost halfway out the door. I know I’m not going to win the race, but that doesn’t mean I have to be last. My friend and I begin jogging. Whew! I’m tired already! So, we walk some. She’s military and only stopping because she doesn’t want to leave me. Friends. How many of us have them? She explains that running is a mental thing. The more you stop, the more you’ll stop. I always thought it was the more you weigh, the more you stop. But, okay. She tells me to pick a spot to run to and don’t stop until  I reach it. Ok. I can do that. I chose the 3rd stop light. Running. Running. Yes! I made it! Walk a bit. “Now choose another spot,” she says. Ok. I can do that. I was almost to my spot when I realized that I could go a little farther. So, we pick another spot and continue running. I turn the corner (heading back toward the finish line) and I’m still running! Whose lungs and legs are these? Surely they’re not mine! I’m feeling better than ever so I keep going and going. Next thing I know I see the red tape! I was in 3rd place! Just kidding! I was probably 3rd from the last person to finish, but I felt like a rockstar anyway. This particular race was one of the big ones. Nice tee-shirts for all the participants, breakfast waiting for us as we cross the finish line, free water bottles, and lots of raffle giveaways. The grand prize was 2 round trip tickets to anywhere Continental flew in Asia or Micronesia (the surrounding islands). Normally I dash home anticipating getting out of my sweaty clothes and into the shower, but this time I hung around and hoped that everyone else would go home to increase my odds of winning something cool.

It’s time to raffle off the grand prize.

“Number 492. 492. Going once, going twice, gone.” YES!!! More of these, please!! “Number 528. 528. Going once, going twice, gone.”

Next number!

“Number 949. 949. Going once, going twice, gone.”

Wow. These people are crazy for leaving!

“Number 5….6….” What made him go in slow motion, I’ll never know, but something grabs me by the vocal chords and makes me jump out of my seat and yell, “THREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” The announcer looks at me and I instantly feel dumber than bricks. He looks back at the raffle ticket in his hand, looks straight out at the crowd and says, “THREE!!!!!” I screamed for forever! I WON! I WON! OH MY GOSH! I WON!

Pull yourself together and go accept your prize.

I could barely sign my name on the dotted line! I couldn’t believe it!

God, is this you?! Why are you so awesome to me!!

When I was walking to my car, I felt a range of emotions. People were stopping to say congratulations and I felt super special! And, then I felt like “Hmmmm…there might be someone waiting in the bushes to jack me for my tickets!” I jumped in my car and locked my doors. I think I sung and danced all the way home. There was no way I was calling my husband to say the usual, “I’m on my way,” he’d hear the bubbling excitement in my voice! I pull up to our apartment complex and I’m pretty sure I cartwheeled all the way up the stairs to the 3rd floor. I’m still now sure how I managed to unlock the door. I walked in all extra calm and told him I won a prize at the 5k. I always win prizes so he probably thought it was a gift certificate to a restaurant or something. When he saw “2 round trip tickets” written on the front of the envelope he picked me up and spun me around the room!! VACAY!!!!! I think we cheesed for the rest of the day!

Fast Forward to now…

We’re leaving for Hong Kong in 3 weeks. I’m so excited! It’ll be my first trip out of the country! (One more thing to cross off my bucket list.) And, a friend agreed to watch our toddler. Could this get any better?! I can’t wait to share my first international trip with all of you. Stay tuned!

If you enjoyed this post, please comment like and share!

With lots and lots of love,

 

9 thoughts on “My 5K Experience: Hong Kong Here I Come!

    • Hey girl! Thanks for reading!

      I can’t wait to see walk the streets of Hong Kong! And, I’m totally not surprised you’re going to China. You’re such a jet-setter! I love it!

      I can’t wait to vlog about my trip. And, I can’t wait to hear about yours, too!

      Like

  1. Congrats on finishing your 5k. If you stick with it running will become addictive. The fact that you won it so awesome! I’m stopping by from Her and Nicole. Nice to meet you!

    Like

    • Thanks!! I did stick with it for a good lil’ minute. I need to get back going. I live for Hong Kong next week! I can’t wait. Thanks so much for stopping by! Nice to meet you, as well. And, don’t be a stranger!

      Like

  2. Pingback: You’re Stressing Too Much: Chilleth Outeth Sayeth the Lord | Woman, Live!

  3. Pingback: Coincidence or God? Don’t Miss God In The Little Things | Woman, Live!

  4. Pingback: How to Spend 7 Days in Hong Kong | Woman, Live!

Leave a Reply

