#IAmMySister / Woman, Eat! / Woman, Heal! / Woman, Live!

Do I Have To Chew You Up & Spit You Out In Order To Help You?

So, I just heard about this book Why Do We Eat Our Own. It has the Christian fish on a plate ready to be eaten. I didn’t get it at first. Why is someone eating the Christian fish? I hope you’re not as slow as I am, but if so please know you’re not alone. The book is about Christians tearing down, judging, and criticizing or “eating” each other….in the name of God. I don’t own the book, yet, and I’ve only read the first few pages via Amazon.com but that was enough for me. Until you get a chance to hop over to Amazon.com to get a sneak peak inside, here’s the book description:

All too often, Christians who are sinners themselves become judge, jury, and jailer over others. In his newest release, Why We Eat Our Own, author and pastor Michael Cheshire boldly explores some unsavory questions. Why does the world often do a better job of forgiving their fallen than the Church? When did the Church become cannibalistic? Is the decline in Christianity due to the world or have we just become horrible to each other and the world noted it?

How accurate the statement “All too often, Christians who are sinners themselves become judge, jury, and jailer over others.” <—What a deep truth!  In the beginning pages of the book, Pastor Mike talks about the day he decided to step down from pastoring. He said he and his wife felt a rush of freedom from the mere idea of not having to live up to other people’s expectations of them. They could listen to music they liked without feeling condemned. They could be themselves in public without people reporting it back to the church. They wouldn’t feel obligated to give their own money to struggling church members because the church was tapped out. He wouldn’t have to feel guilty about wanting to get home to catch Sunday football.

I’ve been a victim of Christian cannabalism. I’ve stayed out of church because I had nothing “suitable” to wear. I’ve been ashamed to put my $1 in the offering plate (even when it was all I had). I know what it’s like to be the unwed, pregnant girl in church.

I’ve chewed up a few Christians of my own. I’ve used guilt and shame and isolation “in the name of Jesus.” When they made mistakes they paid a thousand times. But, when I think back on the things I used to do (and still do)  I don’t remember God using those tactics with me. He just kept loving me. He kept picking me up after every stumble. He kept brushing me off and saying it was okay. He kept reminding me how much He loved me. This is what the church should look like. Ready with hugs, bandages, and prayer for when we fall because we all fall.

We must remind ourselves that Jesus doesn’t look at what we look at.

But the Lord said to Samuel, “Eliab is tall and handsome, but don’t judge by things like that. God doesn’t look at what people see. People judge by what is on the outside, but the Lord looks at the heart. Eliab is not the right man.” (1 Samuel 16:7)

We makes someone a good Christian in our eyes is a big, “So what!” to God. I think we’d all be shocked if God came back and pointed out his most avid followers. Something tells me they wouldn’t be who you think they’d be. They wouldn’t look the way you think they should look. They wouldn’t act the way you think they should act. And, they wouldn’t speak the way you think they should speak. Keep that in mind the next time you’re tempted to judge someone.

So….

How do we help others alone if we don’t correct/judge them?

What do you think?

With Love,

(Click here to read excerpts from the book.)

One thought on “Do I Have To Chew You Up & Spit You Out In Order To Help You?

  1. I don’t think correction is judgment which in my eyes implies a sense of authority or superiority over someone else. Correction has pure motives. Judgement doesn’t. I’ll take that faithful wound of a friend any day. If genuine correction is taken as judgment it just wasn’t ready to be received. The recipient wasn’t ready to be helped along.

    Pastors have it bad. They are called to be a living testimony to the fall of man. God chooses their weakness to show his glory on a grand scale. I’d feel accomplished just to show up to work everyday. We should be more appreciative that they’ve done their part. It’s up to us to receive the message.

    Like

Leave a Reply

