Eat! / Heal! / Live! / Woman

Don’t Let Them Keep You On The Ground. GET UP!

on the ground

A friend was sharing a story of a woman. This woman was a spiritual giant. She was co-pastor of a church. She had the perfect life, perfect marriage. And, then, she committed adultery with someone in ministry. After going through a devastating divorce and being dismissed from the church, Jesus told her to get up and follow Him (again). Meanwhile, everyone around her looked on with eyes that said, “Don’t you dare get up! Who do you think you are that you should be able to move on peacefully after what you’ve done? You haven’t paid enough. You don’t deserve to get up from the ashes and have a good life. You fell and we’re going to remind you of it everyday of your life.”

Have you ever felt this way?

Let’s see what Jesus says.

6 When Jesus saw him and knew he had been ill for a long time, he asked him, “Would you like to get well?”

7 “I can’t, sir,” the sick man said, “for I have no one to put me into the pool when the water bubbles up. Someone else always gets there ahead of me.”

8 Jesus told him, “Stand up, pick up your mat, and walk!”

9 Instantly, the man was healed! He rolled up his sleeping mat and began walking! But this miracle happened on the Sabbath, 10 so the Jewish leaders objected. They said to the man who was cured, “You can’t work on the Sabbath! The law doesn’t allow you to carry that sleeping mat!”

11 But he replied, “The man who healed me told me, ‘Pick up your mat and walk.’” (John 5:6-11, NLT)

Which one are you?

Has God told you to get up and walk again?

Or, are you the Pharisee glaring with unforgiving eyes and saying, “Don’t you dare move.”

Chances are that, like me, you’ve been both. But, we have the power to both accept God’s forgiveness, pick up our mat and walk and the ability to show grace and mercy to our sister or brother and encourage them to get up from the ashes and do the same.

God can redeem and restore anyone. Who am I to make them pay a thousand times? God doesn’t do that to me. And, He doesn’t do that to you.

 And he has taken our sins as far away from us as the east is from the west. (Psalm 103:12, ERV)

I rejoice in the fact that He takes away my sins. I don’t have to pay for them day after day, unless I choose to. In case you didn’t know, God sent His son so that you can live a life of joy and peace. Being chained to your past mistakes doesn’t qualify. And, chaining other people to their mistakes is also no-no.

Sister, it doesn’t matter what you did. 

It doesn’t matter who you were. 

God knows who you are. He created you. And, He knows the plans He has for you!

God said, “I have heard your cry. I have forgiven you. I have healed you. Get up. Walk.”

And, I’m encouraging you to do just that. 

If you enjoyed this post, please comment, like & share. 

With Love,

15 thoughts on “Don’t Let Them Keep You On The Ground. GET UP!

  1. Wow! This is so powerful! I do catch myself holding on to grudges and I should allow people to “change” in my head. I love starting my day out today reading bible versus on your site. Thank you for that!

    Like

    • Thanks!! Until my friend told that story, I never imagined people being angry about the man getting up to walk. It really hit home for me, too. God’s forgiveness isn’t just for us and our mistakes. It’s for everyone, even our enemies.

      Like

  2. AMAZING post. I have been in that situation where I was the one keeping me down (as is usually the case). I was the one who decided that I didn’t deserve to get back up. It took a lot of work, but I did get up. Thank you for the encouragement.

    Like

    • Thanks, Missy! I’ve been there, too….letting shame and what people (might) think or say keep me from truly embracing God’s forgiveness and redemption. Even writing this blog I’ve thought, “Who am I to try to encourage someone?” It’s so important to remind ourselves of what God thinks of us. Otherwise, we’ll get lost in our own unforgiving thoughts.

      Like

  3. I love how Jesus forgave everyone’s sin (mine included) yet he told the adulterous woman to go and sin no more. So if we really want to get up, we will want to go and do right–to please Him. Of course, we may fall again, because the just man falleth 7 times, yet as my husband says the truly regenerate person is never sinless, yet will sin less and less.

    Like

    • That’s so true, Tammy. When we get up we should walk in a different direction (the one behind Jesus). Excellent point! *I’ll be borrowing your husband’s saying and I may or may not give him credit.* 😉

      Like

  4. This was great! We all make mistakes. Some are “bigger” than others in our own eyes. Though God sees “Sin as Sin”. We all can make mistakes and make them no longer and get up and make a difference! You are 100% right we can still make a difference even when we weren’t perfect.

    Like

    • Oh, of course! Look at the people God uses in the Bible! He doesn’t go for Miss Perfect. In fact, sin is what got Him to come save us anyway. And, He didn’t die for us to wallow in shame and guilt and never walk in our calling. He died for us to get up and go and spread the gospel, loving one another, using our talents for His Kingdom.

      Like

  5. Great reminder to look at ourselves through the eyse of the Jesus so that we don’t become that white-washed tomb. It always unnerves me when as Christians we decide who gets grace, even more so when I catch myself doing it. Thanks for the reminder, Brandi!

    Like

Leave a Reply

