Guest Posts / Woman, Eat! / Woman, Heal! / Woman, Live! / Woman, Move!

Are You Bored With Your Life? 5 Ways to Break The Monotony of a Daily Routine

Woman, how can you live well when you’re burnt out and stuck in a routine? We all need a change of scenery every once in a while. When I was working in a pharmacy here on island, my lunch break often felt like I had broken free from prison. Music, sunlight, people watching, and smelling the fresh air was therapeutic for me. In this post, Tamara Woods of Pen Paper Pad gives us tips on how to add variety to a monotonous day. 

Being healthy is more than the food you eat and your exercise routine. It’s also your state of mind. How you feel about yourself colors your life, your goals and your accomplishments. As a freelance writer, who works from home, there are days where I find it very depressing to be home alone. Generally speaking, when you work outside of the home, you have people you interact with on the regular. I live in Honolulu, a completely different time zone from the majority of my friends and family in West Virginia. Although I’m beginning to set up my support system here, I haven’t fully acclimated and that “community connection” is definitely missing in my home office. In order to have a happy and healthy lifestyle, I have to keep a positive state of mind.

So how do I combat the work from home blues?

  1. Get that blood flowing: When you exercise, your brain naturally releases endorphins, those feel good hormones. Take a walk, or go to the gym. Try yoga to connect with your body and your breathing. Plus it will help to combat being an absolute sloth from sitting behind a computer all day. (Recovering sloth here. No judging.)
  2. Treat yourself: My disposable income isn’t high, but spending a few dollars on little things that make me smile, like nail polish or a new-to-me hair scarf (thrift stores, yes!). These make me feel pretty and renew my spirit.
  3. Connect: Meet up with friend or have a date night with your significant other. If you can’t arrange it in real life, create a virtual experience. Skype meetups, Google plus hangouts and Twitter chats (Like #IAmMySister) are a great way to just break through the lonely cycle.
  4. Prioritize: Sometimes feeling the blues is a result of being overwhelmed. First decide where your tasks fall by level of importance. Are there things that have a deadline? Is something already late? Take this revised To-Do List and break them down into small, manageable bits, which will take the stress down.
  5. Change the work scenery: It sounds so intuitive, but it’s easy to get caught up with work, and look up and you haven’t left the house today, or yesterday…or the day before yesterday. Sometimes the walls start to feel oppressive.  There’s times when I will work at the local library, take a notepad and video camera to a less touristy beach or go to this place inside of a hotel that has this lovely waterfall. I try to find places that don’t have distractions, and are pretty quiet. That works best for me.

Bonus: Learn to How to Say No: This is going back to being overwhelmed. Do not force yourself to take on tasks that you really don’t need to do. If you plate is already overloaded, let the person know you appreciate the opportunity, but you can’t at this time. Even offer to do it in a week or whenever your load lightens. Be polite and let them know you would be interested in working with them in the future. Offer a referral for someone you know to be reliable and dependable. Then keep that line of communication open. This will serve you better in the long run than doing a poor job because you’re overwhelmed or not meeting a deadline.

I hope these tips will help you to combat the work from home blues. Do you have other ways to combat your sadness? Let me know in the comments.

Thanks for reading!

T. A. Woods

Follow Tamara on Twitter & Facebook. And, don’t forget to check out her website & subscribe!

Tamara Woods is a hillbilly hermit in Honolulu just trying to make it in the writing world. She gives writing, social media tips and shares writing on her blog Pen Paper Pad   You can also connect with her on Facebook and Twitter. Her first collection of poetry, "The Shaping of an 'Angry' Black Woman" is planned to drop in Fall 2013.

Tamara Woods is a hillbilly hermit in Honolulu just trying to make it in the writing world. She gives writing, social media tips and shares writing on her blog Pen Paper Pad. You can also connect with her on Facebook and Twitter. Her first collection of poetry, “The Shaping of an ‘Angry’ Black Woman” is planned to drop in Fall 2013.

2 thoughts on “Are You Bored With Your Life? 5 Ways to Break The Monotony of a Daily Routine

  1. Hmm it looks like your website ingested my initial think (it has been very long) thus i guess I’ll only sum it up what I had written and state, I am thoroughly enjoying your website. My partner and i as well feel an ambitious blog article writer but I’m still not used to every thing. Do you possess virtually any tips and methods for beginner blog writers? Would certainly love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

