Woman, Live!

Baby Steps Are Still Steps (My Eating Habits)

questionsphoto: thebiggeridea.co.uk

The questions I’m answering today are pertaining to my eating habits during weeks 1 & 2 of Insanity.

First, let me put out a disclaimer. I am not a health nut so no condemnation, please.

So, the questions are:

“Are you following the meal plan?

“Is the eating regimen strict?”

I can answer your questions with one answer.

I don’t follow the Insanity meal plan so I don’t know if the eating regimen is strict. 

Baby Steps.

I started changing my diet years ago. And, it was a gradual thing. I begin replacing sugar with Splenda. I switched from white bread/rice/pasta/pancakes to whole grain. I recently switched from pork bacon to turkey bacon. And, the only drinks in our house are Crystal Light, unsweet tea, juice (for Arden), V8 Splash (only b/c they don’t sell diet on Guam), and water. I break down and go Ginger Ale crazy every now and again, but we only buy single cans. We can’t handle a 2 liter of soda so we don’t buy them. Baby steps. We recently switched from cow’s milk to soy milk. And, my vegan friends have introduced me to tofu and more vegetarian meals which doesn’t hurt!  Lastly, we piece meals together. For example, if we order fast food, the three of us will split a large fry, 1 cheeseburger, and a 5 piece nugget. Water to drink. We have our pizzas double sliced (so instead of eating 3 pieces, I only eat 1 and 1/2). It’s a mind game! I also like to split meals with my husband and daughter (huge calorie saver!!). These changes were gradual and small, but they make a huge difference when I add up my daily caloric intake.

My personal trainer told me to eat 5 to 6 small meals a day. At first you’ll probably find this impossible to do. It only means you’re eating too much in one sittingl. Eat smaller amounts and you can literally eat all day long.

My eating during the first week of Insanity was horrible. I had lasagna for dinner twice. And, my husband ordered pizza on Friday night because tofu and rice wasn’t a “friday night meal”. Not to mention, I ruined the tofu! LOL. So, my healthy meal turned into 1 and 1/2 slices of heaven for dinner! And, I still lost 2 lbs. So, I wonder what my results would have been had I eaten better. This week I’ve done considerably better (if you don’t include the small piece of carrot cake w/ cream cheese icing I ate last night). I’ve been snacking with my 3 year old. If she has baked pork chop and carrots for lunch, I’ll nibble from her plate and add an apple. I’m constantly popping grapes, a piece of turkey, or watermelon, etc. But, I’m still not eating the way I want to. I could definitely incorporate more veggies!

Here’s an idea of how I like to eat:

Breakfast: 

omelet, whole wheat toast & fruit OR eggs, turkey bacon & whole wheat toast  OR eggs & 1/2 whole wheat bagel w/ crunchy peanut butter OR Special K & Soy Milk

*I’d like to get to the place where I only eat egg whites. Not there yet! The egg yolk & I have a special bond.

Mid-Morning Snack:

Fruit/Veggies

Lunch: 

Grilled Chicken salad OR Progresso Chicken & Wild Rice soup OR a turkey sandwich on whole wheat bread & fruit

Afternoon Snack:

Fruit/Veggies

Dinner: 

Grilled Meat, Veggies & Brown Rice OR Hay Stacks (think….Taco Salad minus the meat and shell)

I could eat like this everyday and not get bored because these are foods I enjoy A LOT. If you are looking for more variety, you might want to follow the meal plan.

Some low-calorie guilty pleasures: 

100 Calorie Popcorn Bags

Salsa & Tortilla Chips

Pork Rinds (don’t judge me!)

After my weigh-in on next Wednesday, I’m going to try to follow the meal plan and see if it makes a difference!

If you’re on your weight-loss journey, please say hello in the comments! To find your BMR (the number of calories you’d burn if you stayed in bed all day), click here. This will help you to know how many calories you need to burn to lose weight, gain weight, or maintain your weight. Also, a great way to track your calories is on myfitnesspal.com.

I hope this helps!

See you at the next weigh-in!

With Love,

3 thoughts on “Baby Steps Are Still Steps (My Eating Habits)

  1. I Lol’d at “egg yolks and I have a special bond.” Although I don’t eat eggs (I was a picky kid), I still feel that way about ice cream, pizza and chicken nuggets from Chick-fil-a. Pray for me!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weigh-In Wednesday 08.14.13 | Woman, Live!

Leave a Reply

