#IAmMySister / Woman, Live!

You’re Invited!

On August 3rd and 4th, I am hosting a Twitter hashtag party for #IAmMySister via my other blog, Woman, Eat.

On an episode of Iyanla Fix My Life, Iyanla Vanzant said,

I’m not my sister’s keeper. I am my sister.

When she said this, I was reminded of the 2nd most important commandment,

Love others as well as you love yourself. (Mark 12:31, MSG)

and

Laugh with your happy friends when they’re happy; share tears when they’re down. Get along with each other; don’t be stuck-up. Make friends with nobodies; don’t be the great somebody. (Romans 12:15-16, MSG)

Winston Churchill said,

When there is no enemy within, the enemies outside can’t hurt you.

“Within” can take on many different meanings, but when I read this quote, I read…

When black women stand united, the enemies outside don’t stand a chance.

When black women support each other, their resilience flourishes.

When black women love one another as much as they love themselves, they will bless instead of curse each other.

If we create a cycle of pushing one upward and then that one reaching back to pull the next one up, we will make our way to the top. There is room for all of us.

I was a cheerleader in high school. It was common to look into the stands and see your coach and classmates shouting the cheers with you. But, the day I looked into the stands and saw my older sister cheering along with me…my heart smiled. Having her support meant more to me than any classmate or any coach. She was family.

Family feels different. When they hurt you, it’s more devastating than any other hurt. When they believe in you, support you, and encourage you to succeed, it can lift you higher than the clouds.

Please support The #IAmMySister Initiative by using your social media networks (blogs, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. ) to spread the word. *If you write a blog post about #IAmMySister, don’t forget to show case your blog by linking up with the original post by Woman, Eat.

See you at the party!

With Love,

Leave a Reply

