Woman, Live!

“God Wants Us To Be Our Brother’s Keeper.” (Interview w/ Chrystal Wilson)

I love shining the spotlight on people and giving them an opportunity to share themselves with us! I decided to catch up with my cousin (by marriage), Chrystal Wilson. She and her husband just started a church in Greenville, SC. A young 30-something couple planting a church!!! <—Huge! So, I wanted to catch up with her and pick her brain for some goodies to share with all of you.

Here’s what she had to say…

Who is Chrystal Wilson? 

Chrystal is a Devoted follower of Christ. A lover and committed wife  and a nurturing mother to my 3 Beautiful Children. I grew up in a home where my Dad was also my Pastor; which means… yes I’m a PK (preacher’s kid).

Chrystal, what motivates you? 

The things that motivates me is knowing that if I keep going there is soon to be a reward. I realize that my ultimate prize isn’t on this side but I live by the motto ” I’d rather have tried and failed, then to not have tried at all.”

If you could relive the last 10 years of your life, what would you do differently?

I would face my fears and be honest with myself and others. I realized that lying to yourself and others even when you think you’re protecting them just opens up a can of worms.

So, if you could give your 18 year old self some advice, what would it be? 

Don’t be afraid of adventure. There is so much world out there and people to be met. Also, your current circumstance does not define your future or what God has in store for you.

Tell us about your happiest moment. 

My happiest moment was when I arrived to Arizona. Arizona is the first state I lived in away from home. It was amazing because God placed that place in my heart when I was in 4th grade. Everyone I told about it thought I was crazy. They would laugh and say “there are no black people in Arizona” and little did I know that I would me my “knight in shining armor” and that would be the first place I lived on my own. God is Amazing.

Yes He is!

What is a good habit you’ve began lately? 

A good habit I’ve began lately is to speak truth to myself. Not reality but truth. Reality is what my  limited natural eye sees and the truth is what God sees. When situations get hectic and scary I began to say its not as bad as it seems I have what it takes.

You are the only you, no one has your thumbprint so no one can leave the impression on the world like you can #VitaminDee (tweeted by @DeeCMarshall)

What does this quote mean to you?

I believe that everyone has a story and a testimony. There is a scripture in Revelations that I often quote ” We shall overcome by the Blood of the Lamb and the Word of our Testimony. I believe that we go through things not only for ourselves to be stronger in faith but so that we can help someone else overcome. God wants us to be our brothers keeper.

I couldn’t agree more. So, what impression are you leaving on the world? 

To chase after God wholeheartedly at no matter what the cost. It is so worth the treasure that is in heaven. I realize that our present suffering is not worthy to be compared to the glory that will be revealed in us! Amen.

What’s the biggest obstacle you’ve had to overcome?

My biggest obstacle has been to overcome MYSELF… and the lies I tell myself that others are thinking about me.

I appreciate your honesty, Chrystal. Truth is, we all are our worst enemy. It’s important that we stay rooted in the Word and believe what God says about us. 

Having said that, what is your go-to scripture?

Romans 5: 1-5

5 Therefore, since we have been made right in God’s sight by faith, we have peace with God because of what Jesus Christ our Lord has done for us.Because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing God’s glory.

We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance.And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love. (NLT)

What are you passionate about?

I’m passionate about life, about change. I love to see the moment in people when the light bulb finally comes on and change happens. That keeps me going in ministry.

If you could do anything for a career, what would it be?

If I could do anything for a career it would be pastoring and raising up pastors.

What’s one piece of advice your mom gave you that you’ll never forget?

Somebody always see you. LOL. She was so right. It taught me to have integrity in all that I do, because even if a physical person didn’t see me, God saw me.

So, I’m just itching to know how you balance marriage + parenting + work life?

I make them all into one. I make myself available as a wife and a mother. Worklife comes last because those things [being a wife & mother] are my #1 priority.

What are you currently reading?

Leadership 101 by John Maxwell

If you could give our readers one piece of advice, what would that be?

Remember that Fear cancels Faith. If you want to find success it’s on the other side of fear. Go Hard or Go Home!

Our first female/female relationship is the one we have with our mothers, aunts, cousins, etc. What kind of women are you raising your girls to be?

I raising my daughters to be trustworthy and and to be a true friend that doesn’t judge but to be a true safe place for someone.

How do you give back to your community?

I give back to my community by working and serving in YMCA and also planting a church.

Because we’re women, I feel we all have a “dream” for other women. What is your dream for other women?

My dream for women is that we recognize the gift and power that we possess. God gave us so much discernment (instinct) and words of expression as a weapon against the enemy. But instead we use it on each other. My dream would be for women to discover their true purpose so we can unite and tear down the kingdom of darkness.

I L-O-V-E it! 

Congrats on planting Emerge Church, Greenville, SC! What an awesome accomplishment! What have you learned about yourself since becoming the administrator Emerge Church?

That I love what I do, I love who God has called me to do and I love Emerge Church!

What have you learned about yourself since becoming an aerobic instructor?

I can achieve anything I put my mind to. If I can see in my mind it can be done. And oh that I need to get in SHAPE! LOL!

You and ME, both! Do you have any favorite aerobic exercises/tips to share with those of us who have some pounds to shed?

Build muscle so that you can have an awesome resting metabolic rate. Don’t be afraid of weight lifting. It won’t make you bulky!

Gotcha!

Accepting salvation and living as a Christian doesn’t always follow one another immediately. In fact, I didn’t start living for God until almost a decade after I confessed Him as my Lord & Savior.

What is your story?

I grew up in a home where my dad was also my Pastor. He didn’t make me live as a christian even though I had to respect Christianity in his home. My Dad would share his testimony with me and my cousins all the time of how he used to be before he was saved and it was hard to believe.

What finally made you start living for Jesus?

It wasn’t until I was 18 years old and I had really began to stray from my faith that I began to have encounters with the kingdom of darkness that left me fearful all the time. I couldn’t sleep at night. I would leave my lights on during the night and I didn’t like to be alone. I even had “close to death” situations that were happening back to back. I was realizing that I was living in darkness and that the Devil had a hit out on me.. .literally. He wanted to take me out while he could. But thank God for a praying mother and father. One night it was October 12, 2001 I had a REAL encounter with God and he allowed me to see the world as he saw it. It was a quick glimpse. Every time I tell this I think of Romans 8 where it says that creation groans and travails waiting on the SONS of God to be revealed. That was exactly what he showed me I saw how creation knows exactly who he is but we humans have no clue because of sin. I immediately surrendered my life to him and haven’t looked back since.

Kelly Minter said, “Christians are called to be set apart from the world, but not set against the world.”

What does this mean for you?

It means to me that we have to live in such a way that people see Jesus in us. We are the Body of Christ therefore we are to love on his people, not persecute them. God comes to bring Grace and not Guilt.

An awesome way to love on and honor the people of God is by founding a church for them to come worship, receiving healing, and be taught discipleship so you’re already laboring with Christ for the good of the Body. 

Chrystal, thank you so much for sharing these trinkets of wisdom with all of us. 

God bless you, Terrence and your family for being obedient to your calling. 

Please post any questions/comments for Chrystal or myself in the comments below.

Connect with Chrystal on Facebook!

With Love,

Leave a Reply

