Woman, Live!

Are You Buying New Clothes for Easter?

This is my first Easter on Guam so I can’t speak for the island, but back home in South Carolina, Easter is one of the most popular Sundays to attend church. I remember getting a new flowery sundress and strappy sandals each year! Don’t you? And, you had to get there early for the “good” seats. As I grew older, Easter became more than just a crowded Sunday church service. I found myself gazing at the sunlight thinking, “This is the day my Savior rose from the grave.” And, as the years passed, I cared less about what I was wearing and more about honoring Christ on that most precious day.

Well, Easter is here again. And, we’ll all hear the story of how Jesus was murdered for our transgressions YET rose with ALL power in His hands! (I’m getting excited just typing it!) And, we’ll all clap and shout, “Amen!” But, you know what would make Heaven rejoice?

Inviting & bringing someone to church with us

The Bible says that Jesus will leave the herd of 99 to find the one sheep who wandered away (Luke 15:3-7). This Easter (and every Sunday in-between), let’s give Heaven a reason to throw the biggest party ever! Let’s round up the lost sheep, guide them back to our shepherd and celebrate our new sisters/brothers in Christ! Now that is a reason to go out and buy new clothes, if there ever was one!

So Jesus told them this story: “If a man has a hundred sheep and one of them gets lost, what will he do? Won’t he leave the ninety-nine others in the wilderness and go to search for the one that is lost until he finds it? And when he has found it, he will joyfully carry it home on his shoulders. When he arrives, he will call together his friends and neighbors, saying, ‘Rejoice with me because I have found my lost sheep.’ In the same way, there is more joy in heaven over one lost sinner who repents and returns to God than over ninety-nine others who are righteous and haven’t strayed away!

{If you invite someone to church for Easter Sunday (or any Sunday), share a pic on my Facebook page! I want to celebrate with you! If you are the lost sheep and you’re ready to exchange the life you’ve created with the awesome life God wants to give you, click here.}

With Love,

Inspired by Perry Noble’s post Bringing Versus Inviting

Leave a Reply

