Woman, Live!

You Go Girl! No, YOU Go Girl! — Encourage Your Sister

Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. (Ephesians 4:29)

The other morning, I read a Facebook status update from a woman I went to middle school with. She and I don’t speak on  a regular basis, but what she has been posting lately has been inspirational for me. So, I took a moment just to say, “You inspire me, girl! Keep spreading the Gospel!” She responded saying that she needed that encouragement and, “You have no idea how much it encouraged and inspired me when you shared your blog series with me. It gave me a boost and more confirmation to be free of my identity crisis. God is using you! I pray that we both continue to be a willing vessel and just trust him because he could never lead us the wrong way! Be blessed.”

What started out as a sincere compliment to her turned into an unexpected word of encouragement for me! Uplifted, I responded, ” Now you’re encouraging ME! And, that’s how it’s supposed to be! What would happened if women everywhere lifted each other up? It’d be such a healing experience. Keep seeking God, girl! He’s creating a platform just for YOU!” She received the word I gave her and shared a snapshot of her heart’s desire: changing mindsets in order to set people free. I encouraged her to check out a young entrepreneur who shares the same passion as she and also a recent article I had written that I thought would also bless her. Our conversation ended with her thanking me (for the information) and telling me to “Have a great day…on purpose!”
Both she and I are in the beginning stages of falling in love with Jesus and ourselves. The beginning stages of any good thing can be exciting and exhilarating! It can also be unfamiliar and scary. Prior to messaging here, I didn’t know how she was feeling nor did she know how I was feeling, but I can guarantee that the kind, motivating words we shared with one another put a spring in our steps! It even prompted me to encourage another sister in Christ who just started a new church with her husband in my hometown, Greenville, SC.
1 Thessalonians 5:11 says:

 So encourage each other and build each other up, just as you are already doing.

But, all of us aren’t doing that, are we? Some of us are tearing down, insulting, and cursing each other with our words. The New Life Version of Ephesians 4:29 says,

Watch your talk! No bad words should be coming from your mouth. Say what is good. Your words should help others grow as Christians.

God has called us to see the best in one another and to pray for and encourage one another. And, it starts with you. Remember, it is sin to know what you ought to do and then not do it (James 4:17).

For some of us who aren’t used to honoring others, it can be awkward and difficult which is normal. For some of us who refuse to honor our sister, it’s an indicator that our hearts aren’t right and that perhaps we’re unhappy with ourselves.

In the next few days, I’ll elaborate more. But, in the meantime, find one sister to encourage and/or compliment today. You’ll be glad you did! 

With Love,

Leave a Reply

