Woman, Live!

{#ItsTime} Weight Loss: Preparation is KEY!

I was about to jump into my personal challenge of losing 50 lbs. when I realized I was not prepared. At first I thought that maybe, just maybe, this was a cop-out, but then I remembered that this is a “shoulder boulder” and is not to be taken lightly!

Preparation is key when setting ourselves up for success. So, I wanted to give us a few days to prepare ourselves to really slay these giants in our lives.

Preparation will look different depending on the “shoulder boulder” but, if your goal is to lose weight, like moi, then your preparation should look similar to this:

1. Comfy Clothes/Good Shoes – There’s nothing worse than working out with a sock that keeps sliding down into your shoe, a bad thong, and a bra strap that keeps falling off of your shoulder. That’s the quickest way to get me off the treadmill and heading for the showers. So, make sure you have comfortable clothes, socks that fit,  and shoes with good ankle support.

On the island, there aren’t a lot of bargain stores, but one I heavily rely on for everything is Ross. Great value for a low price.

2. Measuring tape & Digital Scale – Some people say they never got on a scale and simply judged their weight-loss by how their clothes fit. NOT ME! If I lost 0.00001 lb. I want to know about it! Weighing myself is a way to see if I’m headed in the right direction. So, for me, it’s a must!

During this challenge, I will be weighing myself weekly and measuring my waist/hips/and bust monthly.

3. Jump Start: Detox/Fast (And, vitamins!) – Some fitness experts suggest jump-starting your workout with a 2 day fast or detox. The 2 day fast and/or detox is designed to clean out your digestive track and give you a fresh start for the beginning of your workout program.

I will be doing The Simple Cleanse . I chose to detox for the benefit of improved energy and to rid my body of any built-up toxins.

**Click to tweet support & encouragement to me!**

4. W A T E R! (Yuck!!!) – I am allergic to water. Seriously. Nah, I’m kidding. But, water makes me want to go thirsty all day long. In fact, sometimes I do. I’d much rather be drinking some juice, Crystal Light, unsweetened tea, ANYTHING but water. However, I can’t debate that it’s essential.

I recently learned through a nutritionist that we should consume at least 1 cup of water every hour we’re awake. So, that’s the plan.

5. Myfitnesspal.com – My Fitness Pal is a great way to make losing weight a team effort. On this site, you can follow your friends and see your daily results (i.e., calorie count, pounds lost, etc.) Sometimes we need accountability and having to log-on and document what I ate helps me not to eat that extra cookie.

Join my accountability team!

6. Gym bag – The more prepared I am, the easier it is to workout. If I’m rushing and have not have time to gather my shoes, sports bra, Ipod, etc. the gym is the first thing to go. So, get prepared the night before by packing your gym bag and placing it by the front door. Better yet, go ahead and place it in the car!

7. Calendar – Let’s face it, sometimes things come up and we can’t workout at our usual time. If you look at your workout schedple ahead of time, you can rearrange so that you still get a workout in. Also, penciling in your workouts, as you would a meeting, is another way to stay on track. I alternate from the gym to DVD’s at home so knowing what routine I’m doing helps me to plan my week accordingly.

8. Community Events – Sometimes our living rooms and the gym can be boring. Look for opportunities to exercise with a group and/or outside. One day I decided to do a 5k…cold turkey. I walked it with my toddler in her stroller. And, guess what. I LOVED IT! So much so, that I signed up for the next one almost every Saturday for 2 months. Another way to switch it up is to take classes at your gym such as Body Combat, Step, Spinning, etc. Another example — A free Zumba class held every evening in the center court of our mall M-F. Ask around, you’d be surprised what your community has to offer!

9. Playlist – Music makes me move! And, I’ve found the better the song, the more intense I work out. <–True story. So, a good playlist is an absolute must for me (especially when running). I’ve tried almost every genre, but what really gets me going is Gospel music. Check out my top 10. 

10. GOD – Losing this weight has been a long time coming for me. I know it will be the hardest thing I’ve ever done. So, I’m relying on God to help me to get over this hurdle. (And, whatever your burden…) We can rely on God for strength and the willpower to accomplish our goals. 1 Cor. 10:31 says So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. <—Ditto.

**Click to tweet support & encouragement to me!**

{There’s something you need to do. You know exactly what it is. And, I’m here to tell you, you CAN do it. Don’t shrink back. Conquer this thing!

#ItsTime

If you decide to accept this challenge to do whatever it is you need to do, email me at brandi@womaneat.org. I will pray for you as you go through this difficult, yet VICTORIOUS time in your life. Just think of how strong and confident you’re going to be after you finally slay your giant!}

With Love,

*DISCLAIMER: All exercises and other forms of physical activity can be dangerous, especially if performed without medical advice, proper supervision and/or pre-exercise evaluation. The videos, techniques, ideas, and exercise suggestions presented on in this website are not intended to be professional training advice.

Always consult your physician or health care professional before performing any exercise, especially if you have any chronic or recurring condition, and/or if you are pregnant, nursing, or elderly.

All exercises you perform you perform at your own responsibility and at your own risk.*

Leave a Reply

