Woman, Live!

{The Call to Become Yourself} Become Who You Are

{Post 2 of 11}

We are all hoping something we do in this world matters. That what we create will stay with people forever. As Steve Jobs, the infamous founder of Apple Computers, once said, we all long to “put a dent in the universe.” To leave some kind of impact on this ball of dirt.

But most of us, tragically, won’t.

We’re afraid of the cost. Worried we don’t have what it takes. Anxious of the road it takes to get to greatness. So we play it safe and abide by the rules. Before we start, we sabotage our work and subvert our genius.

And how, pray tell, do we do this? With words. Subtle but serious words that kill your passion before you pursue it. Words like “aspiring” and “wannabe.” Words like “I wish” and “someday.”

There is a solution to this. A simple but hard way of facing your fears and living the dream:

Become who you are.

Excerpt taken from You Are a Writer (So Start Acting Like One) by Jeff Goins

Isn’t that just pure gold? 

Become who you are. 

Every year we strive to be better as if better is something other than what are. After reading this, I realized that I am already everything I need to be. I was created that way. The procrastination, doubt and fear …it all came later. I was created with everything I’ll ever need to fulfill the purpose God has given me.

After reading this article, I was reminded that I’m not Chained Brandi trying to become Free Brandi. I’m Free Brandi who allowed myself to become Chained Brandi. This changes everything.

Your turn. 

Take a moment to think about what “becoming yourself” means for you.

Say this aloud:

I’m not creating myself. I’m not reinventing myself. I am not finding myself. I was born with a purpose. I was born with gifts and talents. I was born with DNA uniquely mine. I was not made to be ordinary. I was created to be extraordinary. Wonderfully made with a purpose. That’s what I am. I’m not seeking out the “true” me. I am simply becoming who I was created to be from the very beginning. 

I am…

Complete this sentence, or paragraph, or essay! Speak to the you on the inside, the you you were created to be. This shell of fear, doubt, and procrastination…it’s just a shell. The real you is on the inside waiting for you to let her loose!

Let this become your mantra. It’s sure to fire you up and realign you when you’re off the mark!

Meditate on your mantra because tomorrow we go to work with Led to See Purpose (& A Give Away!!).

With Love,

*Hint: You might want to subscribe so that you don’t miss anything!*

One thought on “{The Call to Become Yourself} Become Who You Are

  1. Pingback: Today I Did Something I Was Afraid To Do | Woman, Live!

Leave a Reply

